The Consumerist Standpoint

20160716_021604.jpg

The more people I meet, the more I am leaning towards the belief that we are living in a highly materialistic world. We all love a luxurious lifestyle. But to what extent are we willing to go to achieve that?

Personally, I am a bit of a materialistic individual. I love my watches, my computer and all the luxurious stuff I have. Above all, I love my phone. And believe me; I love it so much… No one is allowed to touch it. And even if you were allowed to handle it, I would constantly have my eyes on you. Which made me think; why am I so concerned about materials? But that, in no fashion, means that I miss on the bigger picture; LIFE ITSELF!

How many of us wake up and are grateful for what we have? How many of us wake up and feel thankful to see the day ahead? FEW. We focus mostly on filling our pockets and acquiring objects of value so as to change the way people see us. So in other words we are not living our lives as we should. We are living a life where we show off our possessions. A life where we work our ass off to acquire stuff we do not need.

But when you go deeper into the matter….things kind of unravels.

An infant has no attachment to any materialistic stuff. It just knows its mum and dad and people around him. I do not know if it is innocence or ignorance.

An elderly person wakes up and is grateful for being alive and making through another day. He is happy when he has his blood pressure, cholesterol, and diabetes under control. He doesn’t care much about latest technological acquisition. He is happy when his kin meets him. He is happy with causal conversations. Luxurious possessions do not mean anything to him. All he needs is care, affection and the basic needs; food clothing and shelter.

So to wind up, I would say that being materialistic is not wrong per say. Provided you know who you really are and care for those who are here for you.

-D.K Luximon

Leave a Reply

